On the occassion of the birth of S. R. Ranganathan on 12th August, 1892, the Public Library in India observed this day as Librarians' day. The Mizoram State Library also celebrate the occassion on 11th August 2017 at Chanmari Y.M.A Hall at 1:00 pm. Hon'ble Minister of Art & Culture Department Mr. R. Romawia was the Chief Guest and Mr. R. Hmingthanzuala, Director, Art & Culture Dept. was the Chairman of the program. Librarian's Day report was given by Mr. Lalramliana, State Librarian and Dr. Lalremsiami, Librarian, Central library, Mizoram University present a paper on topic 'Mizoram Public Library te tan a hmathlir' (Vision of Mizoram Public Library). Mrs. Carol VLMS Dawngkimi , Joint Director, Art & Culture Department propose a vote of thanks on the occassion. Important officials from the department and selected invitees from NGO's and other departments also attended the programme. Mizoram State Library organized Essay writing competition on topic 'My vision of good library' during the month of July and distribution of prizes was conducted during this prestigious events. The competition was categorised into two groups viz., Category I for High School and Category II for Higher Secondary. As much as 18 entries from Category I and 6 entries from category II was received. Lists of winners and prize awarded (shown in brackets) are as-

Category I:

1st Mr. C. Lalruatpuia, Class XII ‘A’ of Govt. Mizo H.S.S. School, Aizawl (Rs. 2500, Certificate & Books)

2nd Ms. Angela Lalthakimi, Class – XI of St. Pauls H.S.S., Aizawl (Rs. 1500, Certificate & Books)

3rd Mr. Lalchungnunga, Class – XI of Helen Lowry H.S.S., Aizawl (Rs. 1000, Certificate & Books)

Consolation prize:

  • Mr. S. Lalruatfela, Class – XII ‘B’ of St. Peter H.S.S., Aizawl (Certificate & Books)
  • Ms. Vanlalremi, Class – XI of Govt. G. M. H.S.S., Champhai (Certificate & Books)

Category II:

1st Mr. J. Lalrammawia, Class – IX ‘A’ of Rosebud School, Aizawl (Rs. 2500, Certificate & Books)

2nd Ms. C. Lalremruatpuii, Class – IX of Govt. Mizo H/S, Aizawl (Rs. 1500, Certificate & Books)

3rd Mr. C. Lalhruaitluanga, Class –X ‘A’ of Rosebud School, Aizawl (Rs. 1000, certificate & Books)

Consolation prize:

  • Ms. V. L. Nunchami, Class –X ‘A’ of Rosebud School, Aizawl (Certificate & Books)
  • Mr. Lalfakzuala, Class –X ‘B’ of Rosebud School, Aizawl (Certificate & Books)